VIDEO: “Southern Man”

Hopefully, everyone made it safely into 2011. Please note that it doesn’t matter if you remember making it, just so long as you did.

Most that know me know that I’m big into music. I think that most people appreciate music at some level. In fact, I’ve only ever met one person who said that they really didn’t like music that much–luckily, the surgery to re-attach my jaw was covered by my HMO.

Very few things posit a bigger thrill in the music world than discovering a song or artist that I hadn’t paid attention to previously. Such is the case with Neil Young, and his song “Southern Man”. This moody song came on the radio while I was driving around the other day, and I could not for the life of me get it out of my head. Good chord structure, tense melody, and Young’s special vibe. I’m going to make it a goal to rummage through Young’s discography (yes, I’ll remember CSNY and Crazy Horse) and see if I can pick out any more gems.

For your listening pleasure, here’s CSNY playing “Southern Man” back in 2000.

4 responses to “VIDEO: “Southern Man”

  1. I added you to my Google Reader for my stalking pleasure. :)
    Hugs!!!

  2. But… I do have to wonder why the “Possibly Related Post” is from the Polygamy – It is about alternative family life-style – Polygamy, as a matter of choice… site.

    Think its the title of your song? Heh

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention VIDEO: “Southern Man” | I'm Treebeardicus -- Topsy.com

  4. “On the Beach” is where it’s at (both the song and the album).

Leave a Reply

